The Winter Fair hall of fame

25 November 2014

With a reputation as one of the finest prime stock shows in Europe, the Royal Welsh Winter Fair is always proud to attract the very best producers, exhibitors, buyers and of course stock to the showground each year.

Celebrating it’s 25th anniversary on 1 & 2 December, this year the stakes have once again been set for a great couple of day’s worth of competitions with over 1,340 cattle, sheep, pigs and horses expected as well as 175 entries in the lamb carcass classes.

With a record entry in the sheep section (421 pairs of lambs) and the single carcass class (147 entries), we can expect to see some excellent examples of livestock over the two-day event.

Arguably, one of the most prestigious titles to be awarded at the annual event is the supreme cattle champion. For the second year running, the overall winner will be decided by two judges, David Plested, who is judging the steers
and Jimmy Mulholland, the judge from the heifer classes.

In recognition of the incredible animals that have been presented with this title over the past 24 years, visitors to the fair will be able to view images of all of the previous cattle supreme champions in the ‘Hall of Fame’ exhibition on display in Hall 1 behind the grandstand.

Other livestock judges at the 2014 Winter Fair include:

Cattle Section
Supreme Championship: Mr D Plested, Oxfordshire & Mr J Mulholland, Cumbria
Baby Beef Section & Pairs Competition: Mr G Brooke, Worcester
Pedigree Steers: Mr D Plested, Oxfordshire
Pedigree Heifers: Mr J Mulholland, Cumbria
Young Handlers Competition: Mr G Jones, Conwy

Sheep Section
Supreme Champion: Mr J Campbell, Northumberland
Hill & Upland: Mr E Jones, Carmarthenshire
Continental & Butchers Weights: Mr R Adams, Vale of Glamorgan
Pure Welsh Mountain: Mr D A Jones, Gwynedd
Lowland & Crossbreds Breeds: Mr M Steward, Roxburghshire

Lamb Carcass Competition
Lamb Carcass Singles Competition: Mr A Morgan, Powys
Lamb Carcass Pairs Competition: Mr D Weaver, Worcester

Pig Section
Mr N James, Monmouthshire

Horse Section
Supreme Championship: Mr B W D Llewellyn, Carmarthshire
Welsh Championship: Mr E G Prosser, Port Talbot
Welsh Mountain Ponies: Mr K J Davies, Powys
Welsh Ponies: Mr D Price Jones, Carmarthenshire
Welsh Ponies (Cob Type): Mr R Morgan, Lampeter
Welsh Cobs: Mr B J Merrick, Glangrwyney
Sport Horse: Ms J Smith, Herefordshire
Welsh Part-Bred: Mr J G Batt, Monmouthshire
Coloured Horses: Mrs S Chapman, Powys,

Hound Show
Mr P Morris, Bridgend & Mr K Markham, Gwynedd

Championships, Trios, Rare Breeds, Junior, Juveniles & Eggs
Mr C Birtwell, Sowerby Bridge
Large & Bantam Soft Feather – Heavy Breeds: Mr R Grice, Co Durham
Large & Bantam Soft Feather – Light Breeds: Mr J Crowther, Sowerby Bridge
Large Hard Feather: Mr E Barnes, Swansea
Bantam Hard Feather: Mr C Guidotti, Essex
True Bantams: Mr P Simpkins, Newport,
Waterfowl - Geese, Heavy & Light Ducks & Turkeys: Mr P Meatyard, Cornwall
Bantam Ducks: Mrs P Birch, Carmarthen