Feature County

Each year the Royal Welsh Show has a different Host or Feature County. This has its origins in the early history of the show, when its location changed year on year moving around the 13 old counties in Wales.

Since the move to our permanent home at Llanelwedd in 1964 the 13 counties in Wales take it in turn to be the Feature County.  In their allotted year the Feature County appoints the President and Lady Ambassador for the show and takes part in the many events during the three shows during the year.  Over the course of their year each feature county also takes particular responsibility for fund raising, organising a variety of events, big and small in their allotted years in order to raise funds to support the development of Llanelwedd and promote the Society, its work and all our shows/events.  Over the years some of the society’s most notable improvements have been raised by the hard working committees in the feature county for example Entrance A, the iconic building on the roundabout was supported by Gwent in 2001 and Caernarvon raised funds to enable the works on the Main Ring.

Please see the drop down bars for information on the current and future Feature Counties.